Reviews

What people are saying about The Balkan Lodge Hotel




Very homely and freindly - Rating 5/5

We found this hotel to be perfect for our trip.the owner was very helpful and friendly .the hotel itself was immaculately clean and breakfast was very good

Reviewer: paul davis | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Great value and location - Rating 5/5

Whilst hunting for somewhere to stay in Oxford for two couples spending the day perusing the city and planning for a theatre event in the evening we soon discovered that staying anywhere in the city centre would be very expensive. The Balkan Lodge Hotel was the perfect alternative, a little way out of the city but easily accessible via a short bus ride or taxi journey. Better still, the hotel is just down the road from the River Towpath which presents you with a glorious walk into town (about 25-30 minutes) I would recommend this option, it really made our day. The hotel itself was ideal for our needs for one night, plenty of parking, pretty well kept gardens front and back, small but clean and smart rooms, lovely breakfast and most important: friendly, helpful people! Great choice!

Reviewer: Mr. John Warne | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality with a very obliging and friendly manager who could not do enough for you. Hotel spotlessly clean with onsite car parking. Easy access to city by bus. Would stay here again.

Reviewer: Mr Milburn | Wed 31st May 2017


Immaculate hotel - Rating 5/5

We knew this hotel was not going to be grand, or an architectural masterpiece, but it was spotlessly clean, nice staff, and the breakfast was great too! Also enough parking that we could leave our car there and go off for the afternoon, ditto the following morning after checkout - this is a plus in Oxford. Very satisfied.

Reviewer: Brian Morgan | Tue 30th May 2017


Fantastic bank holiday stay at the Balkan in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Balkan was an excellent place to stay; the own, who has had the hotel for twenty-two years, was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to when we departed. The rooms were a good size, shower was good and the breakfast was fantastic. It only took us half an hour to walk in to the centre of the city along the picturesque path next to the Thames. Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and it was very good value as we stayed over the May bank holiday so book early!! Will definitely go back to the Balkan hotel when we return to the area again. P.S. As we were walking around Oxford we did not see many hotels at all in the centre

Reviewer: Wendy Parkhurst | Tue 30th May 2017


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

It was a great place to stay, location was good, and the room was really clean. What more could you want?

Reviewer: Ben Redpath | Tue 30th May 2017


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owner, we found a spotless clean room incl. bath in a well maintained house. The full english breakfast is very good and after you feel fit for the day and Oxford. A bus stop is just 1 minute away, so the city centre is easy to reach. Free Car parking in the back of the house. We come again.

Reviewer: Hartmut Fenstermann | Sun 21st May 2017


O2 Academy gig and sightseeing - Rating 5/5

Nice clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff and free wifi. Good price for Oxford hotels and ideally placed for the O2 Academy and sightseeing in Oxford (both approx 20 mins walk). Nice cooked breakfast and breakfast selection and free car parking.

Reviewer: Keith Sokulski | Sat 20th May 2017


Excellent attention - Rating 4/5

Excellent attention and perfect breakfast.

Reviewer: Maria Jose Torres Aboal | Fri 19th May 2017


Weekend with Mum - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay - very clean, welcoming and friendly. The staff and John the Manager couldn\'t do enough and we felt very happy to be there

Reviewer: Lorraine Gunn | Mon 15th May 2017


The Balkan Lodge Hotel Oxford - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, clean accommodation. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast selection. Ideally located for Oxford City Centre and the River Thames.

Reviewer: Mrs Reeks | Mon 15th May 2017


Last minute booking - Rating 4/5

Everything at The Balkan Lodge Hotel was clean and tidy with a very good welcome and good choice at breakfast. Fitted our requirements perfectly.

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Read | Fri 12th May 2017


Positieve revieuw - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant people in the hotel. Hotel itself very good for visiting oxford but also a good base for cartrips to the cotswalds.

Reviewer: arthur slavenburg | Sun 7th May 2017


Loveley clean hotel - Rating 5/5

Hotel was amazingly clean and tidy. Will book to stay there again.Though shame breakfast was not included in price.

Reviewer: MARK HUDSON | Fri 5th May 2017


All perfectly correct. - Rating 4/5

I would definietly recommend this hotel to my friends. Nice service , clean rooms, decent price.

Reviewer: krystian zielinski | Wed 3rd May 2017


Great one night stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly, helpful staff. Very comfortable and clean. Good location - within walking distance of centre and also on bus route. Would stay again.

Reviewer: Louisa Hall | Wed 3rd May 2017


good english hotel - Rating 5/5

Very kind hotel owner. Very good personally waited breakfast. Nice cosey rooms. Very good beds. Free Carpark. Hotel is well situated. We will certainly come back.

Reviewer: Paul Stockman | Sat 29th Apr 2017


Lovely clean hotel, superb breakfast - Rating 4/5

Warm friendly and inviting, lovely place to stay, clean comfortable bedroom, larger than a standard single bed, very comfy, tastefully decorated room, very small ensuite with great shower though! Towels could have been a little more luxurious (fraid round the edges) i was in room 2 which was at the front of the property which there was road noise ( even with the windows closed ) plenty of tea and coffee with biscuits in the room, a tv and phone, dressing table and wardrobe plenty of space for hanging clothes. On site car park. Would stay again ( needed to stay close to john radcliffe hospital ) having said that i did feel a little overpriced ? But the friendly clean and attention made up for this

Reviewer: Amanda Edmond | Thu 27th Apr 2017


Sunny,wonderful weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Stayed in hotel for one night with my family.Excellent choice for a hotel,close to town with taxi 6 minutes,free wifii clean,comfortable beds,great breakfast with lots of choice.Free car park, we also could use next day after check out.The staff very friendly and helpful.High recommended.Thank you very much.

Reviewer: Gosia Gagala | Mon 10th Apr 2017


excellent stay - as always - Rating 5/5

This is my 4th stay at The Balkan Lodge. It is a perfect place to stay away from the city. Comfy beds clean room, excellent breakfast with plenty of choices. i have recommended to all my friends! staff are charming!!

Reviewer: Shirley Robertshaw | Tue 5th Jul 2016


Easter visit - Rating 4/5

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on the nights of 6 - 7 April. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel only a short bus ride from the centre of Oxford. Will stay again next time we visit Oxford and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Munton | Tue 10th Apr 2012


Weekend in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Balkan Lodge was excellent. Quiet room even though overlooking a busy road. Clean and comfortable. Friendly and welcoming. Plenty of good advice about getting in and out of Oxford - just ten minutes away on a regular bus service from across the road. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Easy parking at the rear.

Reviewer: Dave McCall | Mon 26th Mar 2012


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

We have stayed at the Balkan Lodge Hotel several times and for the price can highly recommend it for cleanliness and comfort. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is very convenient for the city centre. There is an excellent choice for breakfast and very filling. We shall certainly stay there again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Nancy Robson | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


Tired hotel but decent value - Rating 4/5

I booked the 4 poster room for my girlfiends birthday as we'd never stayed in a 4 poster before. The hotel itself could do with updating it's decor but the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The 4 poster bed itself was great and would cost a lot more to stay in one in most places, the hotel is close enough that you can walk into the centre without too much hassle or taxi's aren't that expensive either, there was a bit of traffic noise at night as you really had to leave the window open during the night as there was no A/C and it was a hot summers evening. Breakfast was ok with a decent choice of hot foods alongside the usual cereals etc, though the quality of the ingredients (bacon/sausage etc) left a little to be desired. Overall a pleasant stay, though I'm not sure I'd bother with a normal room here the 4 poster is well worth booking if you want to experience one!

Reviewer: Mr. Alastair Rutt | Mon 4th Jul 2011


Our stay - Rating 4/5

A friendly welcome with infomative advice comfortable and clean room good parking on site, will again when coming to Oxford.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Rounce | Thu 30th Jun 2011


Excellent - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night 20th June 2011. We were very comfortable and well looked after. Thank you

Reviewer: Mrs. Carol BARNARD | Thu 23rd Jun 2011


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I honestly enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was very polite and helpful. If I had more comfortable shoes with me I would enjoy walking to the city centre instead of taking the bus. In case I have to visit Oxford again in the future, I will definitely choose this hotel.

Reviewer: Miss. Aikaterini Organtzi | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Nice & Quiet - Rating 3/5

Nice and quiet hotel! I would recommend it to a friend!

Reviewer: Mr. Alejandro Mora | Sun 29th May 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian