Reviews

What people are saying about The Balkan Lodge Hotel




The Balkan - Rating 4/5

Excellent service and accommodations. Well worth the stay.

Reviewer:Mrs E | Sun 8th Dec 2019 | 13 hours ago


Weekend in Oxford- Rating 5/5

A very nice stay, great breakfast. Beautiful walk along the tow path into Oxford. Deffo a would stay again.

Reviewer:David C | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Perfect place for visiting Oxford- Rating 5/5

Well tended Gardens and carparking space. Perfect clean. Lovely chatty and helpful welcome. Rooms well presented, clean with all necessary requirements. Plenty of choice for excellent breakfast. We will return.

Reviewer:Pat H | Thu 14th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Recent stay - Rating 4/5

Warm welcomeClean roomGenerous breakfast

Reviewer:Norah K | Tue 12th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Nice- Rating 5/5

Very clean &comfortable accomodation. With friendly staff and a good breakfast.

Reviewer:Elliot G | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Clean and cosy guest house - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and very clean and value for money.Manager was polite and very welcoming, Breakfast was good and were very accommodating.Would highly recommend

Reviewer:Martin P | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed here. The owner is welcoming and friendly. The room was very good, spacious and comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfast was lovely. The hotel is just a short bus ride away from the centre of Oxford so very convenient. I would happily stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs S | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

I had a wonderful stay at the Balkan Lodge. We had a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with everything you could need, and a lovely breakfast the next morning. With the lodge being just outside the main city area, the nights are peaceful, but it's still well situated to get you quickly and easily into the city centre. It's also perfectly placed for anyone going to the O2 Academy.

Reviewer:Emma T | Sat 19th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Thank you ! - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your welcome, it was a pleasure to see you again. It was perfect. Regards

Reviewer:Mr Pierre G | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


The Balkan Lodge Hotel - Rating 4/5

Friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Room was clean and as advertised.

Reviewer:Paul S | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Friendly and Relaxed - Rating 4/5

Breakfast, bathroom, staff and atmosphere were all very good and the hotel was relaxed and friendly. Room was comfortable.

Reviewer:Mr Simon C | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely Oxford Hotel- Rating 5/5

Great hotel, friendly, helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice. Ideal location for oxford city centre. 30min Walk (flat) or 10mins by bus. Room was small but clean and perfectly adequate for us. Plenty of parking. Would come back and recommend.

Reviewer:Andrea E | Sun 13th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Goose - Rating 5/5

Booking and my stay at Balkan Lodge went very well, great staff, very clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast to.

Reviewer:Mr Robert G | Fri 11th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

I’ve stayed a few times when visiting my family in Oxford. It’s a great hotel, welcoming , clean and with a lovely breakfast. Good value for money. Thoroughly recommend.

Reviewer:Jan F | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed there briefly. The rooms are nice, clean and cosy. The breakfast is very good. I would recommend.

Reviewer:Jonathan C | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent Weekend- Rating 5/5

We had a terrific weekend in Oxford made all the better by the stay at The Balkan Lodge! Excellent staff, large, clean and well looked after rooms! Nothing too much trouble for the staff when assisting you! Breakfast was a treat, would definitely recommend and would stay here every time we visit Oxford!

Reviewer:Garry M | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Clean and Friendly - Rating 5/5

Clean and FriendlyPerfect for a last minute break, free parking and an easy walk into town.

Reviewer:Robert F | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Had the four poster room absolutely stunning decor throughout. Lovely breakfast and a great night sleep. Wl do e! Will definitely be back

Reviewer:Alison H | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Disappointing - Rating 3/5

We had requested a quiet room away from the main road because we needed a good night's sleep after a long drive from Northumberland but when we checked in we were given a room overlooking the main road. The room was very small and basic and not very comfortable. Breakfast was good and cleanliness was good, however.

Reviewer:Anthony S | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


I would go back there at any time - Rating 5/5

I can't praise this hotel enough. The way it is structured and managed is a silent reminder that simplicity and splendour often walk hand-in-hand. For the casual traveller like myself this hotel is highly recommended. The rooms are very nice and clean, decorated and facilitated in such a way they remind one of their home. The hotel is located on a main road that leads right to the centre of the city within 20 minutes (walk), in a very nice and from what I gathered noise-free area. I think you should try it. You can't go wrong...

Reviewer:Mr. Michael P | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


So clean and well managed.- Rating 5/5

The Balkin was the cleanest most organized hotel I have ever stay in. Breakfast was great too. My husband and I were very comfortable.

Reviewer:Joanne H | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Balkan Lodge - Rating 5/5

Great hotel at a very reasonable price. Clean and tidy with polite and helpful proprietors. Very good substantial breakfast!We've used the hotel several times now and have never been disappointed.

Reviewer:Anthony M | Sat 7th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Beautifully presented - Rating 5/5

A very warm, relaxing and homely lodge with very friendly and welcoming owners. On first entering the premises we were greeted by enticing floral aromas permeating through the elegantly and tastefully decorated rooms and hallways. We were particularly grateful for the 'secret' herbal tea offered to my wife when she was feeling unwell. It actually worked! Our room was cosy and comfortable though being on the street side we did find the traffic noise a bit intrusive at times. Overall though, highly recommended!

Reviewer:Ian R | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


IDEAL PLACE TO STAY- Rating 5/5

I had a very comfortable and pleasant stay in an extremely clean and friendly hotel.The owner, John, was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The walk into Oxford was only 25 minutes and the bus stop handy although I never used the transport. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel as very good value for money. Kindest regardsShirley Fraser

Reviewer:Shirley F | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Refurbished and cozy hotel - Rating 4/5

Very nice, well-cleaned and cozy hotel and the place is furthermore carefully refurbished with a small garden. Staff and service was extremely helpful and adequate. Location is close to central. Just a walk along the river. The road however is pretty busy.

Reviewer:Claus K | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend retreat - Rating 4/5

A little gem of a place.Very clean &tidy. Welcoming manager. Near enough to the centre of you liked a walk or easy bus ride. Good variety at breakfast. Glad we found it.

Reviewer:Carolyn M | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely property homely and clean great breakfast, location to bus stop ideal enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Sandra S | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Great weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Cosy, homely feeling place that met our needs for a weekend away.

Reviewer:Fiona F | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Always a pleasure tostay at Balkan lodge hotel - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your welcome. The hotel is quiet and well located. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr Pierre G | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely weekend- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely weekend, host was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, hotel was very clean and tidy, good selection for breakfast hot and cold, amazing full English breakfast cooked by hosts wife, extra toast etc was always available. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewer:Martin K | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Relaxing night away- Rating 4/5

lovely establishment, a very warm, friendly intimate hotel.Would thoroughly recommend this property.Only downside parking can be a little bit tight, but that’s only a small negative.

Reviewer:owen m | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay at the Balkan Lodge Hotel. The atmposphere was very nice and the manager was great. I had a nice breakfast every morning. The hotel is situated near the city Centre, there is a bus stop nearby and the buses are frequent. I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

Reviewer:Elzbieta B | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great Place to stay - Rating 5/5

Host very welcoming and helpfulful. We had a lovely ckean room the breakfast was lovely. Good location as close bus stop into town .

Reviewer:Sue S | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Disappointed - Rating 3/5

Small but tidy rooms.They advertise a bar, yes they had a bar , but it was not open,A very good breakfast.

Reviewer:john w | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Staff is very helpful.Clean and comfortable room.Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Rob N | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Fantastic stay! - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Balkan Lodge. The hotel is clean and the facilities are great, would thoroughly recommend as a great place to stay in Oxford. The owner is very friendly and helpful and made the stay extra special. Would certainly return!

Reviewer:Mrs chantal L | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely stay!! - Rating 5/5

My mum and dad really enjoyed their stay and would definitely stay again.They were both looked after by the host and enjoyed the lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Gemma F | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Oxford overnight - Rating 5/5

This hotel is a 10 minute bus ride from the centre of Oxford and situated close to the bus stop, local shops and a good pub.The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast very good. We were able to leave our car in their free car park whilst visiting Oxford the next morning, after checking out, which was much appreciated.It is a reasonably priced hotel providing good service close to the city, where hotel prices are very high.We would stay there again.

Reviewer:Jennifer H | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


great - Rating 5/5

Personal was very friendly.Helped with everythingNice place to stay for a short time

Reviewer:Tim van E | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Balkan Lodge - a very good choice - Rating 5/5

It has become a kind of a second home for us. The rooms are very clean, the manager is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is close to the bus stop. The breakfast is excellent. There is a kettle in the room,with biscuits, tea and coffee. Balkan Lodgeis also very close to the beautiful Iffley village, to many gardens and to Donnington Bridge where you can have a riverside walk.

Reviewer:Gul Tekay B | Thu 4th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Birthday stay - Rating 5/5

As Good as last time. Clean and comfortable, well situated, reasonable price and excellent breakfast. Rooms are small but adequate as a base to explore from.. staff knowledgeable and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs Karen B | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Good choice for visiting Oxford - Rating 4/5

We had a clean and comfortable room, a good breakfast on both days, and the neighbourhood was quiet. On-site parking was a relief, and the location being an easy walk from the city made it particularly convenient.

Reviewer:Ian S | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Balkan Lodge- Rating 4/5

First time staying at the hotel, the owner very accommodating in every aspect. Will definitely stay there again 👍

Reviewer:Mrs E | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Nice and clean - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, clean and in order.

Reviewer:Hakan D | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


1night stay- Rating 5/5

Fantastic room and service will be returning

Reviewer:Mark B | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Would have liked a window... - Rating 4/5

I had a twin room which was fine in itself but didn't have a window, just a skylight. A note on one of the beds instructed me not to "touch"it. I understood why although I thought it was a bit rude. However, after getting into the other bed, I realised it was under the skylight and there was no way of blocking out the light, so I didn't sleep very well. Breakfast was fine and the receptionist/waiter was very obliging.

Reviewer:Deborah F | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


A good choice;we\'d stay again. - Rating 4/5

Though a bit far out of town, it is a walkable distance. Taxis can also be arranged, and the hotel will help to call them. The hotel is clean and comfortable and provides breakfast.

Reviewer:Wendy C | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Adorable little hotel! - Rating 5/5

Great place. Within walking distance of some nice shops and restaurants, on the bus line to central Oxford, quiet, clean, comfortable, reasonably priced. And hot breakfast included! Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Aidan C | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


I had a nice stay.. - Rating 5/5

I had a nice day at Balkan Lodge. The property is well appointed and maintains a high standard of cleanliness. The room was comfortable and I enjoyed a good breakfast. Although not centrally located there is an excellent bus service into the city centre, or alternatively a nice walk along the Thames Path.

Reviewer:Robert S | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay at Balkan Lodge Hotel- Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable room , staff very knowledgeable and helpful, easy parking , lovely breakfast and welcoming, would definitely return.

Reviewer:Martin S | Sun 16th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

we really enjoy our stay at balks lodge hotel.We can highly recommande this place. Clean , quiet, sympathetic, good breakfast, excellent!!

Reviewer:Loise C | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Good clean and comfortable

Reviewer:robert c | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


My stay - Rating 4/5

Well looked after by the staff

Reviewer:John A | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Great short stay - Rating 5/5

We found the accommodation very clean and bright and a very warm welcome from the staff, the breakfast was great and we will certainly return for another stay.

Reviewer:Steve C | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Reviewer:Alexander W | Mon 13th May 2019 | 6 months ago


房间挺温馨的- Rating 4/5

住的单人间,房间布置得不错,设施也还不错就是洗脸池实在太小水很容易溅出。出门就有车站,十几分钟可以到牛津大学那边,因为有4.8镑的24小时巴士通票,所以出行很方便这边也安静一些,不一定要住很中心的地方。总的来说住的很舒服

Reviewer:JIE L | Thu 9th May 2019 | 7 months ago


one night in may - Rating 3/5

Everything was fine;but 1 suggestioin i have. At the front of the hotel where we were, room darkening shades would have been very much appreciated!. The lights outside were very bright so hard to sleep.Thanks RJW

Reviewer:Randolph w | Tue 7th May 2019 | 7 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Very good welcome at this comfortable hotel. My room was very nice, and well equipped with everything. Breakfast was lovely, and well presented, with plenty of choice, though I would have liked some fruit. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Joy B | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality, clean, tidy and with a lovely breakfast! 20mom was into city centre.Rooms were good and airy and parking an absolute must!Would recommend

Reviewer:Ms Donna K | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night to attend a concert, Small double room, large enough for two adults,clean fresh room, coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Staff very accommodating.

Reviewer:Sharon P | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay, clean and comfortable. Would defo use again.Breakfast was delicious

Reviewer:Julie D | Mon 4th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


Balkan lodge - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay. Walm clean pleasant room. Friendly owner. Will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs Marisa L | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Very comfortable and convenient- Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money. Very comfortable with welcoming and helpful host. Immaculately clean with everything you might need in the room including hairdryer, kettle and bathroom toiletries. Good selection for breakfast including full English. Great situation with big car park to leave car in and take a 25 minute pretty walk down nearby River Thames towpath to Oxford centreor take bus from outside the door. Bonus as oxford car parking expensive and busy.

Reviewer:kathy b | Mon 24th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


thank you !- Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure to stay again in the hotel. We'll come here every time we'll have to be in Oxford.

Reviewer:Ms P | Tue 18th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Oxford value- Rating 5/5

Very clean,good value !Extremely warm andwelcoming owner manager ,. Definitely recommend and will stay again visiting my son at Oxford UniGood breakfastRoom a bit small

Reviewer:Zoltan C | Sun 16th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Had five rooms booked as part of a retirement dinner in Oxford. The Balkan Lodge proved a great place to stay, spotlessly clean, great staff, terrific breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr Rob W | Thu 6th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect for us - Rating 4/5

Lovely warm rooms, spotlessly clean, friendly helpful staff, very good breakfast. Exactly what we wanted, lovely walk into centre of Oxford

Reviewer:Lynne G | Mon 3rd Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent Again!- Rating 5/5

Stayed here before as it was handy for a gig at the O2, as well as on a nice easy bus route into town. Nice clean room and a genuinely helpful and laid back guy - we will be back!

Reviewer:Kate A | Tue 27th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Relaxing overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Staff very friendly and helpful.Room nice and comfortable.Excellent breakfast.Would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Timothy B | Thu 22nd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


All good! - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay with decent facilities and a fresh feel to the place, not to mention very good cooked breakfasts that set you up for the day. Hotel very conveniently located within reasonable walking distance of the city centre. Only minor gripe was with the sink in our room not emptying properly but this in no way affected our enjoyment of the stay here. Thanks!

Reviewer:Ian Robert B | Tue 20th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


FIRST TRIP TO OXFORD - Rating 5/5

It's always a pleasant surprise when you visit a hotel for the first time and everything just works.That was my experience at the Balkan, there was a place to park, a good welcome, the wifi worked, and everything was very quiet and comfortable

Reviewer:Phillip M | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Oxford delight.- Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel approx 5-10 min walk from town centre or pop across to the canal for a tranquil walk to town.Great room, helpful staff nice breakfast, ideal parking.Overall a joy to stay there.

Reviewer:Gavin F | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay and warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Lovely place. Room was good size and bed comfy. Needed an early breakfast and they happily prepared one at 0730. Bathroom was also a good size.Decent parking facilities, and fairly close to centre by taxi. Few restaurants close by as well. Staff were very warm and welcoming.

Reviewer:Kamal R | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Clean, friendly, efficient, good breakfast, convenient location.

Reviewer:Inbar G | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great value for money - Rating 4/5

Ideal for our one night stay. A friendly &efficient welcome. A clean &tidy room. 10 minutes by bus from the city centre. Descent breakfast. Let us use the car park after checkout. Would be happy to visit again

Reviewer:Nigel W | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


very pleasant place - Rating 5/5

The place is clean, tidy, smells good and great service. Management are very helpful, accommodating and friendly. I paid as advertised and there were no surprise charges on checking out. There is tea, coffee, and some biscuits, as well as soaps ,shampoo and body wash lotion in your room and is replaced with new every day. The breakfast has a great spread and variety to eat. And no one is rationing how much you can take.Overall I recommend the stay as a definite choice. and would return again to stay there , without any hesitation

Reviewer:Michael P | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


We\'ll come back - Rating 5/5

Clean, quiet, on the 3 bus line. Fine breakfast. Good price. Grocery store nearby.

Reviewer:Richard R | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Hotel - Rating 4/5

Perfect location,only 30 mins walk to town centre, really lovely walk by the river offers alternative from road. Staff really helpful and friendly, we will return.

Reviewer:Jeanette W | Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


fine place to stay at very reasonable price - Rating 5/5

I spent three nights in this hotel. My single room (no. 2) is everythng a hotel guest who does not care for luxury but who does appreciate comfort and good sense can ask for. The services - cleaning, breakfast are very good. I have nothing to complain about, but only to add that the hotel is ideally situated to walk to town in 15 minutes along the Thames banks, with very fine views all along. If, and when, I return to Oxford without a need to stay right in the city centre, I would certainly look first for a room in this hotel with its kind and efficient manager.

Reviewer:Mr David Omar C | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

We have just stayed for one night and were very impressed. I asked for a quiet room when booking and we had a room at the back which was perfect. The room was very homely, well equipped and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. The host is friendly and welcoming. The number 3 bus runs past the door frequently which makes getting to and from the centre very easy, although we walked one time and it takes about 25 minutes to reach the High Street. All in all it was a great stay and we would certainly come back here again.

Reviewer:Mrs Susan S | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Could not fault it thoroughly enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Catherine S | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


bad sleep - Rating 3/5

The room and the four poster bedwere well presented but the mattress was so hard it was the worst 2 nights sleep we had in 3 weeks of travel .Breakfast was good.

Reviewer:Malcolm B | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at this lovely Balkan Lodge Hotel for one weekend. It was not far away from oldtown (around 20 minutes we guess) and our host was very obliging, friendly and answered every question we had. We had a good time in this nice accommodation :)

Reviewer:Sabrina von O | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


our stay for Oxford half marathon - Rating 5/5

very friendly welcome and support for our participation to Oxford half marathon. Thank you very much and sure we will come back!

Reviewer:Mr Pierre G | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Helpful and friendly owner, pleasant and clean accommodation, 1st class breakfast, really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Rachel W | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place- Rating 5/5

Great place and so convenient for walking into town

Reviewer:Paul D | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay, nice staff, great breakfast and off road parking. Room was clean and tidy if a little dated. That said, the bed was comfy and we both slept well.Nice placeWould stay again.

Reviewer:Andrew T | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and big enough, and the breakfast was very good. I missed nothing.With bus no. 3 it is not far away from the centre, or you can walk along the Thames.

Reviewer:Andreas H | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


An excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Suited me perfectly- comfortable, clean, well positioned for small shopping and transport into the city centre. Friendly and helpful. Car park worked for me and breakfast was extremely good.

Reviewer:Simon M | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice hotel - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable, good breakfast and helpful, friendly staff.

Reviewer:Susan N | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A great stay - Rating 4/5

Easy to find and adequate parking.bedrooms were beautifully furnished and a good choice of breakfast food served by friendly staff

Reviewer:Mrs Sheila B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

We got a warm welcome and our room was comfortable. However the bed squeaked and the pillows were not very soft. Breakfast was good with a range of hot meals available.Easy access and parking. We were visiting our daughter nearby so location for us was excellent.

Reviewer:Marilyn E | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Balkan Lodge Review - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at Balkan Lodge Hotel.Exceptionally clean and well presented accommodation.Very friendly and informative host.Breakfast was wonderful.Easy access to Oxford centre either by a scenic walk or handy bus.If in Oxford again that is where we would stay.

Reviewer:John P | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly and helpful- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay the staff, room and food were all 5 star.

Reviewer:Ian M | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable room - Rating 4/5

This was a very nice, comfortable room, larger than a single room often is, with everything you might need (though a tiny bathroom). Made to feel welcome as an infrequent but returning customer. Many breakfast choices, all good.

Reviewer:Joy B | Wed 1st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Hotel...Good location...Friendly Staff..Perfect. - Rating 5/5

On arrival private parking was a bonus...Great room and facilities. Went for a walk along the Thames into Oxford..beautiful. Came back on the bus...every 10 mins..easy....Slept in a comfy bed and woke up to a hearty breakfast..Perfect...did the same the next day. Owner was friendly and helpful. Very pleased with our choice. Thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer:Philip B | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Good place about 30 easy mins walk into the core of OxfordKind to allow early check in at 12, good parking, buses outsideOnly issue for us was no window so as it was c28C it was pretty hot but split okBreakfast pretty standard but no complaints

Reviewer:Richard G | Thu 26th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Very clean &staff really friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:Kate M | Thu 19th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Superb hotel - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and our room (as was the whole hotel)was spotlessly clean. All necessary facilities available. Breakfast which was included in the booking fee was delicious. Hotel conveniently situated for short bus ride into the City. To sum up, we can thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will return.Great choice for a stay to explore Oxford and the many surrounding attractions. No faults at all. This hotel is very popular so early booking is suggested.You will not be disappointed.

Reviewer:Carolyn S | Fri 13th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice small hotel with good service - Rating 4/5

Nice stay at a nice hotel. Next time I will have a room with windows (I accidently booked a room wihout, my fault). Nice englishbreakfast.

Reviewer:Stig W | Fri 13th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The Balkan Lodge Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is close to the city centre and only three minutes walk to the bus stop. The owners are very kind. The room is very clean. The breakfast is perfect. Wi-fi could be better.

Reviewer:Gül Baysan - Fazıl Candan B | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Hot but nice - Rating 4/5

The highest service level! The warm weather made the room really hot and there were no window in our room!Great with off road parking.

Reviewer:Kristian K | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Spotless - Rating 5/5

Great stay not huge rooms bit of a squeeze at times but cleanest place we have ever dtayed bfast adequate friendly place bed comfy fan requested as room very hot no problems would stay again .

Reviewer:Keri-anne T | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Would recommend - Rating 5/5

Great stay not huge rooms bit of a squeeze at times but cleanest place we have ever stayed bfast adequate friendly place bed comfy fan requested as room very hot no problems would stay again .

Reviewer:Keri-anne T | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay for work - Rating 5/5

Ideal location for my work visit to Cowley and a better room rate in comparison to the larger chain hotels in the area. My single room was very clean, the bed was big enough and comfortable, the en-suite was also very clean and fully operational. I didn't partake in the offered breakfast as work beckoned for an early start meeting. There was an off-road, secure car park at the rear of the hotel. A 2-minute walk to nearby shops. A good choice for my overnight stay!

Reviewer:Iain W | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We booked this hotel after looking on trip advisor as we were due to go to a gig at the 02 Academy in Oxford.We arrived early about 12.30 &our room was reset, had a very warm welcome.Bedroom &bathroom were very clean &staff very hospitable.Breakfast next morning was delicious.Will definitely return if the artist we went to see is here again

Reviewer:Sarah I | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable, spotless, and good value for money - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Balkan Lodge Hotel for one night, and was very pleased with the standard of accommodation. After a slight hiccup (my room hadn't been prepared since the previous guest had been in it) I enjoyed my night's accommodation. It was a good location for my business meeting the next day, the whole place was spotless and immaculately kept, TV and WiFi worked well, and the breakfast was good. I shall certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Philip B | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice place to stay in oxford - Rating 5/5

Nice, clean and not expensive place. The staff is very welcoming and the breakfast is very good

Reviewer:Jacopo B | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights.It is clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and courteous.The breakfast was a buffet with fruit juices, yoghurt, cereal etc and a choice of fried breakfast from a menu - all delicious.It is well located - about 30 minute walk to the High street or take a side street to Cowley Road for a selection of pubs, cafes and restaurants (within 10-15 minute walk)

Reviewer:ann h | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Balkan Lodge 26 May 2018 - Rating 4/5

A good comfortable stay and an excellent breakfast. Very helpful manager.

Reviewer:John H | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday for two nights. The location was superb. It took no more than 25 mins to walk into the city centre and if you use the local bike shares it was even less. We used Mobike and it’s a fantastic idea and way to get around the city.The hotel was extremely clean and the staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Great local knowledge. The room was smaller than a Premier Inn/Travelodge type place as this was a converted house, but it had a lovely homely feel, and plenty big enough for a weekend. Nice to have somewhere to park the car too, safe and secure. Taxi was about £5-8 depending on the time of day.Overall, we had a great weekend and great value for money.

Reviewer:Adam H | Mon 21st May 2018 | 1 year ago


5/5 - Rating 5/5

Nothing in common with the real Balkan;) Decent breakfast and very helpful staff.

Reviewer:Andras K | Wed 21st Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay in Oxford 7-12 march 2018 - Rating 5/5

A very nice place! Tidy, quiet, friendly service, good breakfast (coffee a bit thin, but it seems to be a british tradition).Walking distance from High Street. We really enjoyed our stay! Highlyrecommended.

Reviewer:Maria S | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice Staying - Rating 4/5

Very good Service and Hospitality ! Nice to be at BALKAN LODGE !!

Reviewer:Enzo C | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Mother’s Day visit - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome and comfortable bed. Have stayed before;room 4 needs a proper shower and hair dryer. Knew what to expect but would stay again. Good parking.

Reviewer:Diane M | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Balkan lodge - Rating 5/5

Very warm clean cosy room with comfy bed and warm en suite bathroom. Excellent breakfast and service. Friendly owner. Will be staying again later in year.

Reviewer:Mrs Melissa L | Tue 6th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Eggs - Rating 4/5

Best poached eggs I've ever had

Reviewer:Robert H | Fri 2nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely little gem - Rating 5/5

The welcome from the owners is wonderful and they could not be more helpful.The rooms are small but very comfortable and warm and the bed excellent.Just up the road is a nice pub for dinner and the cooked breakfast on offer at the Balkan Lodge is filling and a great way to start the day.

Reviewer:Howard D | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Balkan lodge - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable within easy walking distance to the city very good breakfast and John was a good host!

Reviewer:Dennis B | Thu 22nd Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect B&B! - Rating 5/5

Everything is perfect at Balkan Lodge - a good welcome, very, very clean, a delicious breakfast, good parking, walking distance to the city centre.

Reviewer:Mrs Ann G | Thu 21st Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Week end at Balkan Lodge - Rating 5/5

It was a real pleasure spending my last week end at Balkan Lodge hotel in Oxford.The friendly atmosphere, comfortable room and last but not least, nice people, made my stay perfect.

Reviewer:Catalin B | Tue 12th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


One Day Visit to Oxford for concert. - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, very clean, very courteous and friendly staff. Well presented and well cooked breakfast. Conveniently situated on the '3' and '3A' bus route into Oxford. Ample free parking. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:STUART N | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

It's a cosy nice small hotel. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast. Easy commuting to the center. Much better than small B&B around.

Reviewer:Olga S | Sun 10th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Easy to find, ample parking, friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast, fast check-in / checkout. Definitely stay again.Thanks!

Reviewer:Tan H | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Friendly and clean room - Rating 4/5

Good value for money and a most pleasant stay.Wanted to give 4 1/2.Easy access to Oxford but a lot less than the town centre hotels.

Reviewer:Jenny H | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Unpretentious convenience- Rating 4/5

Comfortable;good breakfast;within easy and picturesque walk of city centre along river towpath

Reviewer:michael bernard g | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Very good stay - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival. Made to feel at home. Accommodation and food were very good. Balkan Lodge was well located for us, close to city centre(15 min walk), frequent bus service, ample parking at Lodge. A new location for future stays for us in Oxford. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Laurence N | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Cheap and cheerful. - Rating 4/5

Good location close to Oxford city centre, with parking at an affordable price. Rooms a little date, and shower in a bath, with very thin, cheap and old towels but apart from that a very good trip.Staff were really helpful throughout.

Reviewer:Brian D | Thu 16th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Long weekend - Rating 4/5

Well maintained and furnished. Excellently clean. Good, freshly cooked breakfast. Close by bus service to the city. Helpful host.A great place to sleep when visiting Oxford.

Reviewer:Brian G | Thu 16th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful experience in Balkan Lodge in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Lodge is a great place to stay. It is clean, has all things you expect from a lodge. The breakfast is personlized and great, the people are friendly and nice. You really feel on vacation when staying there. IN addtion, down town is on a walkable distance (20 min), the lodge is well reachbable by car.

Reviewer:Mr Michiel B | Sun 5th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable stay with free parking! - Rating 4/5

I stayed in a comfortable single room with all the facilities I needed for a one night stayFree parking is an added bonus in Oxford, well placed for both the city recentre by bus and places outside of Oxford via the ring roadBreakfast was a huge choice of serve yourself with freshly cooked delicious options, filter coffee was a bonus tooFriendly staff, easy check in and outCould maybe look at triple glazing for front rooms?

Reviewer:Anita B | Fri 3rd Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely weekend in Oxford, helped by comfortable rooms with all the facilities expected. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and hosts were very helpful and friendly. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Patricia J | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Family visit - Rating 4/5

Very conveniently situated hotel near our family and not too far to walk into the city. Really good well cooked breakfast with good choices.

Reviewer:Mrs N | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Balkan Lodge Oxford- Rating 3/5

Very clean. Good food. Polite accommodating staff

Reviewer:Helen B | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Fìrst time staying here and would definitely recommend it.... clean, tidy , lovely room , nice breakfast,easy parking and hotel staff poitie and curtious

Reviewer:Michael S | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

As I have already put it in the title everything was excellent. Accomodation, breakfast and stuff. I really enjoyed my time.

Reviewer:Bruno A | Wed 18th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Surprisingly good...!!! - Rating 5/5

It doesn't look amazing from the outside and the internal decor is a little dated, but it is wonderfully clean and tidy, well decorated, comfortable and the host was extremely accommodating towards my late arrival and early breakfast requests. Can't fault the place really and would happily stay there again

Reviewer:Mr C | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Tue 10th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Two good friends - Rating 4/5

Excellent location for easy access to city centre.Efficient dealing with reservation process.Not a speck of dust to be seen.Valuable carparking facility and delicious freshly cooked breakfast.Just one comment ... aged towels in bathroom could do with replacing!!

Reviewer:Mrs Gill K | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed the one night stay. Very clean accommodation and clean bath .The customer service of the receptionist was first class.I can’t wait to lodge at Balkan Lodge again ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewer:Alex M | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Great for weekend stay in oxford - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit ,and would recommend this hotel.very clean and comfortable rooms ,really helpful staff,secure car park free wifi and an easy bus journey into city centre.if we need to come again to Oxford we will stay here

Reviewer:Paul D | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable and Inviting - Rating 5/5

The host was a congenial, helpful man. The site was clean and comfortable. An amazing, made- to- order breakfast is included. For example, one option is the English bacon, sausage, toast, and beans.A fifteen minute walk brings you to the heart of Oxford. It is on a bus line that goes to downtown Oxford or to Wallingford, a charming village on the Thames. This is where the "Midsommer Murder"series was filmed.

Reviewer:Dita Erika H | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Very Good - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this well located small hotel. Very well run and immaculately clean we would definitely stay at Balkan Lodge again.

Reviewer:Stephen H | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


September weekend - Rating 4/5

All we needed. We'd recommend The Balkan Lodge Hotel. Easyto get to town centre and back (buses or walking - leave your car at the Balkan). Great. 4 stars 'cause we never give 5.

Reviewer:Mr R B | Tue 26th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfort and convenience - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our one night stay;all very modern and clean, and a great breakfast. Easy to find, easy to park, and a good walk or easy bus ride into the centre. Busy traffic might trouble light sleepers.

Reviewer:Mary I | Tue 26th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Good- Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable with a good breakfast.Great location with the hop on hop off bus going past the door.A couple of good restaurants nearby.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


My Stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy good place to stay, I also liked I wasn’t charged for parking which a lot of places do, no complaints I would stay again.

Reviewer:David B | Sat 23rd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Stayed for three nights - Rating 5/5

The Lodge was very clean with helpful and friendly staff. Within walking distance of town with excellent transport routes. This makes the Balken Lodge an ideal location. We had a great three night stay.

Reviewer:Andy M | Sat 23rd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Really lovely place - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 days and everything was absolutely perfect. Lovely room and great bathroom, really good mattress.The owners are very kind and helpful.We'll definitely come back!

Reviewer:Frances H | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Great option - Rating 5/5

It's a great choice:The service is very good, the food is also good, and its location is convenient (not exactly in the city centre) but it's within a reasonable walking distance.

Reviewer:Ruben G | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Very accommodating staff - Rating 5/5

I arrived very late at almost 2:00am and they waited up late to make sure that I get to check-in. Lovely people and super clean bathrooms!

Reviewer:Zandie B | Fri 15th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Stay - Rating 4/5

Stay was very comfortable, Room was simple and stylish.Breakfast was great as was the staff.

Reviewer:Angela M | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


B&B \'Gem\' in Oxford - Rating 5/5

“This B&B accommodation is excellent &highly recommended. The property, both inside &out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean &tidy, very well maintained &presented. Our room was very comfortable &quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge &bar available for guests' use was a most welcome facility. The 'full breakfast' was tasty &generous &on-site car-parking easily accessible &had enough spacing for all guests. Location was very convenient to central Oxford - 45 minutes walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Buses 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. Host, John, was very friendly &helpful. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment &stay in Oxford - look no further !”(Australian Couple - Stayed 2 Nights - July 2017)

Reviewer:Jennifer P | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


a weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Our stay was great. The accomodatios was very satisfying. The location, the room with the bathroom and the breakfast were all pleasant. We really enjoyed our weekend!

Reviewer:Corinne H | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Are stay was excellent and great customer service. Wolud stay again.

Reviewer:keith g | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Within easy reach of Oxford by bus or lovely walk along the Thames. Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Elfed J | Sat 5th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Weekend - Rating 4/5

Clean, friendly and good location for our purpose. Good choice of breakfast and reasonable price for Oxford.

Reviewer:Mrs. Penny H | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Clean room and good breakfast - Rating 4/5

The room is clean and comfortableThe breakfast is very niceA nice place to stay in oxford

Reviewer:Un I N | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

Room was clean and tidy. Friendly welcome and efficient service for breakfast. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewer:Rachel S | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A great two night stay - Rating 5/5

This was a lovely, clean and modern guesthouse. The location was just as we hoped, with free parking and a pleasant walk into the City. The breakfast was excellent quality and the hosts were accommodating and helpful. We would stay again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Alyson G | Tue 25th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A pleasant time at the BLH - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at he BHL. We got a very well cooked breakfast, the rooms were comfortable and clean and our hosts did everything to keep us smiling. If you don't mind to have a walk of about half an hour to the city, the BHL is perfect for visiting Oxford. Of course you can also use the bus or a taxi to Oxford city, but have in mind the lovely way along the river Themse will calm you down after visiting the overcrowded city centre.

Reviewer:Fabian R | Tue 25th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Warm friendly and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Felt well looked after - good breakfast - very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere room clean and comfortable bed

Reviewer:Andrew S | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Brilliant \'Gem\'B&B in Oxford - Rating 5/5

This B&B accommodation is excellent &highly recommended. The property, both inside &out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean &tidy, very well maintained &presented. Our room was very comfortable &quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge &bar for guests' use was a most welcome facility. The 'full breakfast' was tasty &generous &on-site car-parking easily accessible &had enough spaces for all guests. Location is very convenient for central Oxford - 45 minute walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Bus 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. (For those who enjoy Nepalese/Indian cuisine - a great restaurant 'Everest Nepalese' nearby in Howard Street.) Host, John, is very friendly &helpful &promptly replies to email communication. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment &stay in Oxford - look no further !

Reviewer:Jennifer P | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Value for money- Rating 4/5

A very clean hotel with all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay.Lovely garden area and public places clean spotless and welcoming.Rooms small a bit dated but clean and comfortable.Breakfast was lovely.Owner was great sooo polite and a lovely sense of humour.A great little find in an over rated and expensive industry in Oxford.

Reviewer:Cheryl E | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel on first and last night of a 1 week visit in UK. Good value for money. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful reception personnel, car park available at the back. We sincerely recommend this small and cosy hotel.

Reviewer:Dag M | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel on first and last night of a 1 week visit in UK. Good value for money. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful reception personnel, car park available at the back. We sincerely recommend this small and cosy hotel.

Reviewer:Dag M | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice stay close to the city - Rating 4/5

We had a really nice stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave very good suggestions. The rooms were small but very clean. The breakfast was very good.Only one suggestion ...The curtains were very light. We woke up very early every day because of the light from outside.Thanks for the very nice stay!

Reviewer:Inge De C | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Good Value B&B Hotel near Oxford - Rating 4/5

Good breakfast made with speed &excecution by receptionist/chef. Local knowledge on taxis &bus fares &drop off points in Oxford was brief &to the point. Very convenient on Iffley Road.

Reviewer:David O | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Neighborhood outside of town - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and quiet. Polite and friendly manager. Easy to bus into town if you don't have a car.

Reviewer:Nancy S | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Totally satsfied - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was spotless, inside and out and the level of service was excellent. We were particularly grateful that, having arrived much later than intended for a wedding locally, the hotel quickly organised a taxi into Oxford and saved the day.

Reviewer:MartinK | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


My stay at Balkan Lodge Hotel - Rating 5/5

Good place for relex and delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Wing Ching JoeT | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 5/5

Great service, clean and at a walking distance to the city center

Reviewer:Beatriz Diez E | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


glenn - Rating 5/5

very clean and pleasant hotel, with friendly host. ideal location for our visit to oxford and Blenheim palace. nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Glenn L | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Family stay at Balkan Lodge - Rating 4/5

This was our 2nd stay at Balkan Lodge. Great value for money. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Great breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone.

Reviewer:Neil C | Sat 24th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent short break - Rating 5/5

John the host was welcoming, pleasant and could not be more helpful. Hotel was spotlessly clean and the location made it easy to get into city

Reviewer:Terry S | Sat 24th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

The hotel was very welcoming and checin was very efficient.we were there on the hottest day of the year. Although there was no air conditionig, the room felt cool. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We left early and did not have the breckfast.

Reviewer:IanB | Fri 23rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Can\'t fault the hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation,would highly recommend

Reviewer:DAVID E | Fri 16th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


All good - Rating 5/5

Excellent value accommodation with good car parking close to Oxford. Friendly welcome, room had all we needed, full English breakfast was freshly cooked and really tasty. Bus stop outside - 10 mins to centre or lots of taxix.

Reviewer:Glenys T | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Very nice personal - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Balkan Lodge. The room was clean and comfortable. Besides, the personal was very efficient and welcoming. We also enjoyed the breakfast. We really recommend it :)

Reviewer:Barbara C | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


A real find in Oxford - Rating 5/5

I was delighted with the accommodation. I have stayed in Oxford a few times and enjoyed this hotel the most. Access to the centre is so easy. The room was very comfortable and clean .Breakfast was excellent. The fact that the owner runs the property makes all the difference. I will definitely be back

Reviewer:Josephine C | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Warm welcome and a yummy breakfast. - Rating 4/5

Met with a warm welcome from the host. We were able to check in early, given great advice about where to go in Oxford. The room was spotless. Breakfast was yummy. We had a great stay at Balkan Lodge and hope to return soon.

Reviewer:Helen I | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Looks great inside and out. Lovely kept gardens. Inside nice and clean full of pictures and plants. Lovely clean room/ ensuite.Bed was very comfortable. Hotel manager very welcoming and helpful. Everything you could possibly want at breakfast which was 7pnd PPP. Would happily stay again.

Reviewer:jacqueline h | Sun 11th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


great experience - Rating 5/5

had a wonderful time there. Comfortable bed, clean room and friendly staff. I had everything I needed to relax after a long day and get a good nights sleep. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Melanie D | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


ONLY ONE NIGHT - Rating 4/5

Easy to find, great location if you don't mind a stroll into town or by the river.Free parking, clean, friendly and welcoming.I only stayed one night but will definitely stay here again when next in Oxford.

Reviewer:Gerald G | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Very homely and freindly- Rating 5/5

We found this hotel to be perfect for our trip.the owner was very helpful and friendly .the hotel itself was immaculately clean and breakfast was very good

Reviewer:paul d | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Great value and location - Rating 5/5

Whilst hunting for somewhere to stay in Oxford for two couples spending the day perusing the city and planning for a theatre event in the evening we soon discovered that staying anywhere in the city centre would be very expensive.The Balkan Lodge Hotel was the perfect alternative, a little way out of the city but easily accessible via a short bus ride or taxi journey. Better still, the hotel is just down the road from the River Towpath which presents you with a glorious walk into town (about 25-30 minutes) I would recommend this option, it really made our day.The hotel itself was ideal for our needs for one night, plenty of parking, pretty well kept gardens front and back, small but clean and smart rooms, lovely breakfast and most important:friendly, helpful people! Great choice!

Reviewer:Mr. John W | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality with a very obliging and friendly manager who could not do enough for you.Hotel spotlessly clean with onsite car parking. Easy access to city by bus.Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr M | Wed 31st May 2017 | 2 years ago


Immaculate hotel - Rating 5/5

We knew this hotel was not going to be grand, or an architectural masterpiece, but it was spotlessly clean, nice staff, and the breakfast was great too! Also enough parking that we could leave our car there and go off for the afternoon, ditto the following morning after checkout - this is a plus in Oxford. Very satisfied.

Reviewer:Brian M | Tue 30th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic bank holiday stay at the Balkan in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Balkan was an excellent place to stay;the own, who has had the hotel for twenty-two years, was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to when we departed.The rooms were a good size, shower was good and the breakfast was fantastic. It only took us half an hour to walk in to the centre of the city along the picturesque path next to the Thames.Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and it was very good value as we stayed over the May bank holiday so book early!!Will definitely go back to the Balkan hotel when we return to the area again.P.S. As we were walking around Oxford we did not see many hotels at all in the centre

Reviewer:Wendy P | Tue 30th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

It was a great place to stay, location was good, and the room was really clean. What more could you want?

Reviewer:Ben R | Tue 30th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owner, we found a spotless clean room incl. bath in a well maintained house. The full english breakfast is very good and after you feel fit for the day and Oxford. A bus stop is just 1 minute away, so the city centre is easy to reach. Free Car parking in the back of the house. We come again.

Reviewer:Hartmut F | Sun 21st May 2017 | 2 years ago


O2 Academy gig and sightseeing - Rating 5/5

Nice clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff and free wifi. Good price for Oxford hotels and ideally placed for the O2 Academy and sightseeing in Oxford (both approx 20 mins walk). Nice cooked breakfast and breakfast selection and free car parking.

Reviewer:Keith S | Sat 20th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent attention - Rating 4/5

Excellent attention and perfect breakfast.

Reviewer:Maria Jose Torres A | Fri 19th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Weekend with Mum - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay - very clean, welcoming and friendly. The staff and John the Manager couldn't do enough and we felt very happy to be there

Reviewer:Lorraine G | Mon 15th May 2017 | 2 years ago


The Balkan Lodge Hotel Oxford - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, clean accommodation. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast selection. Ideally located for Oxford City Centre and the River Thames.

Reviewer:Mrs R | Mon 15th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Last minute booking - Rating 4/5

Everything at The Balkan Lodge Hotel was clean and tidy with a very good welcome and good choice at breakfast. Fitted our requirements perfectly.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewR | Fri 12th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Positieve revieuw - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant people in the hotel.Hotel itself very good for visiting oxford but also a good base for cartrips to the cotswalds.

Reviewer:arthur s | Sun 7th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Loveley clean hotel - Rating 5/5

Hotel was amazingly clean and tidy. Will book to stay there again.Though shame breakfast was not included in price.

Reviewer:MARK H | Fri 5th May 2017 | 2 years ago


All perfectly correct. - Rating 4/5

I would definietly recommend this hotel to my friends. Nice service , clean rooms, decent price.

Reviewer:krystian z | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Great one night stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly, helpful staff. Very comfortable and clean. Good location - within walking distance of centre and also on bus route. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Louisa H | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


good english hotel - Rating 5/5

Very kind hotel owner. Very good personally waited breakfast. Nice cosey rooms. Very good beds. Free Carpark. Hotel is well situated.We will certainly come back.

Reviewer:Paul S | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely clean hotel, superb breakfast - Rating 4/5

Warm friendly and inviting, lovely place to stay, clean comfortable bedroom, larger than a standard single bed, very comfy, tastefully decorated room, very small ensuite with great shower though! Towels could have been a little more luxurious (fraid round the edges) i was in room 2 which was at the front of the property which there was road noise ( even with the windows closed ) plenty of tea and coffee with biscuits in the room, a tv and phone, dressing table and wardrobe plenty of space for hanging clothes. On site car park. Would stay again ( needed to stay close to john radcliffe hospital ) having said that i did feel a little overpriced ? But the friendly clean and attention made up for this

Reviewer:Amanda E | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Sunny,wonderful weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Stayed in hotel for one night with my family.Excellent choice for a hotel,close to town with taxi 6 minutes,free wifii clean,comfortable beds,great breakfast with lots of choice.Free car park, we also could use next day after check out.The staff very friendly and helpful.High recommended.Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Gosia G | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


excellent stay - as always - Rating 5/5

This is my 4th stay at The Balkan Lodge. It is a perfect place to stay away from the city.Comfy beds clean room, excellent breakfast with plenty of choices.i have recommended to all my friends! staff are charming!!

Reviewer:Shirley R | Tue 5th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Easter visit - Rating 4/5

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on the nights of 6 - 7 April. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel only a short bus ride from the centre of Oxford. Will stay again next time we visit Oxford and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan M | Tue 10th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Weekend in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Balkan Lodge was excellent. Quiet room even though overlooking a busy road. Clean and comfortable. Friendly and welcoming. Plenty of good advice about getting in and out of Oxford - just ten minutes away on a regular bus service from across the road. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Easy parking at the rear.

Reviewer:Dave M | Mon 26th Mar 2012 | 7 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

We have stayed at the Balkan Lodge Hotel several times and for the price can highly recommend it for cleanliness and comfort.The staff are very friendly and helpful.It is very convenient for the city centre.There is an excellent choice for breakfast and very filling.We shall certainly stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nancy R | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Tired hotel but decent value - Rating 4/5

I booked the 4 poster room for my girlfiends birthday as we'd never stayed in a 4 poster before. The hotel itself could do with updating it's decor but the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The 4 poster bed itself was great and would cost a lot more to stay in one in most places, the hotel is close enough that you can walk into the centre without too much hassle or taxi's aren't that expensive either, there was a bit of traffic noise at night as you really had to leave the window open during the night as there was no A/C and it was a hot summers evening. Breakfast was ok with a decent choice of hot foods alongside the usual cereals etc, though the quality of the ingredients (bacon/sausage etc) left a little to be desired. Overall a pleasant stay, though I'm not sure I'd bother with a normal room here the 4 poster is well worth booking if you want to experience one!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair R | Mon 4th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Our stay - Rating 4/5

A friendly welcome with infomative advicecomfortable and clean room good parking on site, will again when coming to Oxford.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian R | Thu 30th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night 20th June 2011.We were very comfortable and well looked after.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol B | Thu 23rd Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I honestly enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was very polite and helpful. If I had more comfortable shoes with me I would enjoy walking to the city centre instead of taking the bus. In case I have to visit Oxford again in the future, I will definitely choose this hotel.

Reviewer:Miss. Aikaterini O | Fri 10th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Nice & Quiet - Rating 3/5

Nice and quiet hotel! I would recommend it to a friend!

Reviewer:Mr. AlejandroM | Sun 29th May 2011 | 8 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian